The new Reading Room for public access to the Reference Library and Archive has been developed above the Museum’s new accessible picture store in the central dome of the Museum.  The library has a wide range of general and art reference books as well as local interest books and rare books. 

The John and Joséphine Bowes archive and the Museum’s archive that in the past have not been accessible to the public can now be consulted in the Reading Room.  There is access to the Internet and to the databases of the Museum’s collections of objects, books and archives. There are facilities for individuals and groups of learners, staff, and researchers, primarily from GCSE upwards.

The Reading Room is open to members of the public to use the Reference Library and to consult the archives, free of charge. The opening hours are on a two-week rota: Week 1 open Tuesday 10.30-4.00 and Wednesday 10.30-1.00, Week 2 open Wednesday 1.30-4.00 and Thursday 10.30-4.00. Please contact the Museum to check which week applies to your intended visit. You will be asked to complete a user application form on your first visit and to show two official forms of ID (to give one example each of your address and signature). You do not have to book a visit in advance but it is advisable to contact us to check that what you want to see is available and if the Reference Library is definitely open to the public.

Current Rota:

Date

Time

Wednesday 13 January

1.30-4.00

Thursday 14 January

10.30-1.30

Thursday 14 January

1.30-4.00

Tuesday 19 January

10.30-1.30

Tuesday 19 January

1.30-4.00

Wednesday 20 January

10.30-1.00

Wednesday 27 January

1.30-4.00

Thursday 28 January

10.30-1.30

Thursday 28 January

1.30-4.00

Tuesday 2 February

10.30-1.30

Tuesday 2 February

1.30-4.00

Wednesday 3 February

10.30-1.00

Wednesday 10 February

1.30-4.00

Thursday 11 February

10.30-1.30

Thursday 11 February

1.30-4.00

Tuesday 16 February

10.30-1.30

Tuesday 16 February

1.30-4.00

Wednesday 17 February

10.30-1.00

Wednesday 24 February

1.30-4.00

Thursday 25 February

10.30-1.30

Thursday 25 February

1.30-4.00

Tuesday 1 March

10.30-1.30

Tuesday 1 March

1.30-4.00

Wednesday 2 March

10.30-1.00

Wednesday 9 March

1.30-4.00

Thursday 10 March

10.30-1.30

Thursday 10 March

1.30-4.00

Tuesday 15 March

10.30-1.30

Tuesday 15 March

1.30-4.00

Wednesday 16 March

 10.30-1.00

Wednesday 23 March

 1.30-4.00

Thursday 24 March

 10.30-1.30

Thursday 24 March

 1.30-4.00
Tuesday 29 March

 10.30-1.30
Tuesday 29 March

 1.30-4.00
Wednesday 30 March

 10.30-1.00
Wednesday 6 April

 1.30-4.00
Thursday 7 April

 10.30-1.30
Thursday 7 April


 1.30-4.00
Tuesday 12 April

 10.30-1.30
Tuesday 12 April

 1.30-4.00
Wednesday 13 April

 10.30-1.00
Wednesday 20 April

 1.30-4.30
Thursday 21 April

 10.30-1.30
Thursday 21 April

 1.30-4.30
Tuesday 26 April

 10.30-1.30 
Tuesday 26 April

 1.30-4.30
Wednesday 27 April

 10.30-1.00



John and Joséphine Bowes' wills
Anniversary card
An architect's drawing of the Museum
Workmen on the Museum steps
The Library
View from the Library