The Bowes Museum > Contact Us

Contact Us


For general enquiries please contact Reception on +44 (0) 1833 690606

The Bowes Museum, Barnard Castle, Co Durham DL12 8NP
info@thebowesmuseum.org.uk

If you have any feedback about your visit to The Bowes Museum (physical or virtual) please use our Feedback Form

Trustees
Mr Peter Mothersill - Chairman
Councillor Joy Allen
Mr Mark Blackett-Ord
Dr Keith Bartlett
Professor Stefano Cracolici
Mr Christopher Davy
Mr Tim Harrison
Mr Stephen Howell
Mr Christopher Oughtred
Miss Susan Palmer OBE
Mr Ken Partington
Mrs Caroline Peacock
Mr Jonathan Peacock
Mr Michael Robinson


Director’s Office
Director – Adrian Jenkins
Assistant to the Director – Leigh Shaw  leigh.shaw@thebowesmuseum.org.uk  01833 694613

Marketing & Communications
Marketing Manager – Rachael Fletcher rachael.fletcher@thebowesmuseum.org.uk  01833 694600
Marketing Assistant  – Leo Rotaru leo.rotaru@thebowesmuseum.org.uk 01833 690606
Media & PR Officer - Alison White alison.white@thebowesmuseum.org.uk 01833 694616

Education
Education & Learning Coordinator – Julia Dunn   education@thebowesmuseum.org.uk  01833 694602 

Curatorial Team
Head of Collections – Dr Jane Whittaker  jane.whittaker@thebowesmuseum.org.uk  01833 694618
Curator of Fashion & Textiles – Joanna Hashagen  joanna.hashagen@thebowesmuseum.org.uk  01833 694608
Keeper of Ceramics – Dr Howard Coutts -  howard.coutts@thebowesmuseum.org.uk  01833 694607
Project Curator - Bernadette Petti - bernadette.petti@thebowesmuseum.org.uk 01833 690606 ext 210
Events Coordinator – Rosie Bradford  rosie.bradford@thebowesmuseum.org.uk   01833 694615

Exhibitions Team
Exhibitions Manager - George Harris - george.harris@thebowesmuseum.org.uk 01833 694 603
Exhibitions Officer - Vincent Shawcross – vin.shawcross@thebowesmuseum.org.uk 01833 690606 ext 206
Exhibitions Assistant - Catherine Dickinson - catherine.dickinson@thebowesmuseum.org.uk 01833 690606 ext 211

Conservation
Textile Conservator – Cecilia Oliver cecilia.oliver@thebowesmuseum.org.uk 01833 694601/694609

Library & Archives
Archivist - Judith Phillips  libraryandarchives@thebowesmuseum.org.uk 

HR
HR & Business Support Officer – Matthew Innes - hr@thebowesmuseum.org.uk  01833 690606 ext 213

Finance
Finance Department  finance@thebowesmuseum.org.uk  01833 690606
Fundraising Officer – Alison Nicholson  alison.nicholson@thebowesmuseum.org.uk 01833 690606 ext 217

Shop
shop@thebowesmuseum.org.uk  01833 690606 ext 225

Café Bowes
cafe@thebowesmuseum.org.uk  01833 694605

Weddings
Please complete the following enquiry form>

Support us


Please select where you would like your donation to go and fill out the form below.


Amount you are donating

£





Thank you, this has been added to your basket.


Sorry something went wrong, please try again.

Information about reopening


We are delighted the Prime Minister has announced that museums can reopen this summer. We understand you are excited at the prospect of visiting The Bowes Museum and would like to assure you we have been developing plans to welcome you back into our beautiful building by late August; we are working on vital social distancing measures so you, staff and volunteers can be confident of a safe environment which everyone can enjoy.

We take pride in offering a relaxed and enjoyable day out for all the family, and with that in mind we are extending the Museum passes we have issued in the last year. Our exceptional Norman Cornish exhibition will continue until Autumn 2020 and we are planning to release details of a packed events programme, including the Christmas Market, over the coming weeks.

In the meantime the grounds of The Bowes Museum are open to be enjoyed by walkers and cyclists, in line with the government guidance on COVID-19. The parkland can be accessed through the front pedestrian gates between 10.30-4.45 daily. We would like to thank everyone for their continued support and understanding, and ask people to respect social distancing guidelines when they visit.

You can keep up to date with developments, including our reopening date here or on our Facebook and Twitter.